A Timeless Message to Young Ministers

Dear fellow young minister
Protect your ministry
Many times we leave our ministries to the mercy of others
Yet, we would be responsible for what is done to it
1 Corinthians 4:1-2 KJV
[1] Let a man so account of us, as of the ministers of Christ, and stewards of the mysteries of God.
[2] Moreover it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful.
We must be found staying true to the gospel
2 Corinthians 6:3 KJV
[3] Giving no offence in anything, that the ministry be not blamed:
Many times the circumstances aren’t favorable
2 Corinthians 6:4-10 KJV
[4] But in all things approving ourselves as the ministers of God, in much patience, in afflictions, in necessities, in distresses,
[5] In stripes, in imprisonments, in tumults, in labours, in watchings, in fastings;
[6] By pureness, by knowledge, by longsuffering, by kindness, by the Holy Ghost, by love unfeigned,
7] By the word of truth, by the power of God, by the armour of righteousness on the right hand and on the left,
8] By honour and dishonour, by evil report and good report: as deceivers, and yet true; [9] As unknown, and yet well known; as dying, and, behold, we live; as chastened, and not killed;
[10] As sorrowful, yet alway rejoicing; as poor, yet making many rich; as having nothing, and yet possessing all things.
Twists and turns, good and bad times, yet we must give no offense.
Romans 11:13 KJV
[13] For I speak to you Gentiles, inasmuch as I am the apostle of the Gentiles, I magnify mine office:
Paul spoke well of his ministry
Of his labour
1 Corinthians 15:10 KJV
[10] But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.
Even of gifts of the spirit specifically tongues
1 Corinthians 14:18 KJV
[18] I thank my God; I speak with tongues more than ye all:
It’s not vain glory, but standing on what God has called you to do and showing others.
Hence his final commentaries
2 Timothy 4:7 KJV
[7] I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:
That said.
We must also protect our ministry from praises and undue adulating from those who love and honor us
Jesus did this
Matthew 3:14-15 KJV
[14] But John forbad him, saying, I have need to be baptized of thee, and comest thou to me?
[15] And Jesus answering said unto him, suffer it to be so now: for thus it becometh us to fulfil all righteousness. Then he suffered him.
With John, Jesus’s mission is more critical than Johns adulation.
Mark 10:18 KJV
[18] And Jesus said unto him, why callest thou me good? there is none good but one, that is, God.
Since he was now a man, his work was to show the Father, he refused any thing contrary
The apostles did the same
Acts 3:12 KJV
[12] And when Peter saw it, he answered unto the people, Ye men of Israel, why marvel ye at this? or why look ye so earnestly on us, as though by our own power or holiness we had made this man to walk?
We are MEN!
I had a discussion with a dear friend who was so vexed at how someone spoke roughly and harshly to me, he my friend also learns a lot from me, so he got angry that this colleague of his who was about age mates or age group with himself could be so rude etc., since he felt I was much older etc.
Taken.
However, I cautioned him, I said “Gbenga, easy now, am a human being not above anyone, am not untouchable!
I can be wrong too. Even if am not, I can be abused and insulted, it’s no strange thing!
We must let our friends and church members etc. know this
You aren’t deity, even if you were, deity has been insulted for ages.
As much as you honor your own pastor etc., others may not see it this way and that shouldn’t breed animosity and you feeling “my pastor can’t be insulted”
What if he is?
1 Peter 2:21-23 KJV
[21] For even hereunto were ye called: because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that ye should follow his steps:
22] Who did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth:
23] Who, when he was reviled, reviled not again; when he suffered, he threatened not; but committed himself to him that judgeth righteously:
No offenses.
We should never make our pastors tin gods.
I RUN away from this,
Paul and Barnabas did too
Acts 14:11-13 KJV
[11] And when the people saw what Paul had done, they lifted up their voices, saying in the speech of Lycaonia, the gods are come down to us in the likeness of men.
12] And they called Barnabas, Jupiter; and Paul, Mercurius, because he was the chief speaker.
[13] Then the priest of Jupiter, which was before their city, brought oxen and garlands unto the gates, and would have done sacrifice with the people.
Men will always be men
You be sincere with yourself
Acts 14:14-15 KJV
[14] Which when the apostles, Barnabas and Paul, heard of, they rent their clothes, and ran in among the people, crying out,
15] And saying, Sirs, why do ye these things? We also are men of like passions with you, and preach unto you that ye should turn from these vanities unto the living God, which made heaven, and earth, and the sea, and all things that are therein:
We are ORDINARY men like you.
Never let their words get into your heart.
Protect your heart.
When they start to praise you etc., turn their focus on Him. And up yours too.
Refuse it,
Jesus did the same
John 6:14-15 KJV
[14] Then those men, when they had seen the miracle that Jesus did, said, this is of a truth that prophet that should come into the world.
15] When Jesus therefore perceived that they would come and take him by force, to make him a king, he departed again into a mountain himself alone.
Jesus!!!!
He would rather have the Father glorify Him
John 17:5 KJV
[5] And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.
And He sure did
Acts 2:36 KJV
[36] Therefore let all the house of Israel know assuredly, that God hath made that same Jesus, whom ye have crucified, both Lord and Christ.
It’s eternal.
Protect your ministry.
You are not untouchable, not above mistakes and rebuke,
I am not.
I have learnt that over the years never to let my ego get in the way.
Whilst I must magnify what God is doing through me, I must draw a line between this and me,
2 Corinthians 4:5 KJV
[5] For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord; and ourselves your servants for Jesus’ sake.
Grace if well understood will always acknowledge human frailty.
2 Corinthians 4:7 KJV
[7] But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.
Him not us.
So don’t over rate yourself,
You are like the donkey Jesus rode into Jerusalem, never be fooled, its Him not you.
So, I like Paul will say, yet not I but the grace of God which was with me (1 Corinthians 15:10)
Protect your ministry, you are no tin God, so never allow any follower make you such, neither are you untouchable.
Hope this blessed you?
Let me know…

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started